2006 Louisiana Laws - RS 28:52.4 — Admission by relative
§52.4. Admission by relative
A. A person suffering from substance abuse may be admitted and detained at a public or private general hospital or a substance abuse in-patient facility for observation, diagnosis, and treatment for a period not to exceed twenty-eight days, when a parent, spouse, or the major child of the person if that child has attained the age of 18 years has admitted the person or caused him to be admitted pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 28:53.2.
B. At the time of admission of the person, the parent, spouse, or the major child of the person if that child has attained the age of 18 years shall execute or provide a written statement of facts, including personal observations, leading to the conclusion that the person is suffering from substance abuse and is dangerous to himself or others or is gravely disabled, specifically describing any dangerous acts or threats, and stating that the person has been encouraged to seek treatment but is unwilling to be evaluated on a voluntary basis.
C. As soon as practicable, but in no event more than twelve hours after admission to the hospital or in-patient facility, a physician shall examine the person and either execute an emergency certificate in accordance with R.S. 28:53(B) or order the person discharged. If an emergency certificate is executed, the physician or the director of the hospital or in-patient facility shall immediately notify the coroner, and the coroner or his deputy shall conduct an independent examination, in accordance with R.S. 28:53(G). If the coroner or his deputy executes a second emergency certificate, the person may be detained for treatment for a period not to exceed twenty-eight days from the date of his admission. Otherwise, he shall be discharged.
D. Except as inconsistent with the provisions of this Section, all other provisions of this Part applicable to persons admitted by emergency certificate shall be applicable to persons admitted pursuant to this Section.
Added by Acts 1981, No. 755, §1.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Louisiana may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.