164.290 State universities recognized -- Names -- Status of Kentucky State University.

- (1) The state colleges formerly designated as Eastern Kentucky State College, Morehead State College, Murray State College, Western Kentucky State College, Northern Kentucky State College, and Kentucky State College may be known and recognized as Eastern Kentucky University, Morehead State University, Murray State University, Western Kentucky University, Northern Kentucky University, and Kentucky State University.
- (2) Kentucky State University located at Frankfort, Kentucky, is a land-grant state institution and, as such, all the provisions of KRS Chapter 164 shall likewise apply to Kentucky State University. It is the intent of the General Assembly that Kentucky State University shall serve as a four (4) year residential institution emphasizing a program of liberal studies appropriate to its size and resources.

Effective: July 1, 1992

History: Amended 1992 Ky. Acts ch. 10, sec. 19, effective July 1, 1992. -- Amended 1982 Ky. Acts ch. 348, sec. 1, effective July 15, 1982. -- Amended 1976 Ky. Acts ch. 8, sec. 1. -- Amended 1972 Ky. Acts ch. 39, sec. 4. -- Amended 1966 Ky. Acts ch. 6, sec. 4. -- Amended 1952 Ky. Acts ch. 41, sec. 8. -- Amended 1948 Ky. Acts ch. 11, sec. 1. -- Recodified 1942 Ky. Acts ch. 208, sec. 1, effective October 1, 1942, from Ky. Stat. sec. 4527-37.