36.255 Kentucky Community Crisis Response Board -- Members -- Meetings.

- (1) The Kentucky Community Crisis Response Board is hereby created as a separate administrative body of state government within the meaning of KRS Chapter 12 and attached for administrative purposes to the Department of Military Affairs.
- (2) The membership of the board shall consist of the following:
 - (a) The commissioner of the Department for Mental Health and Mental Retardation Services, or the commissioner's designee;
 - (b) The commissioner of the Department for Public Health, or the commissioner's designee;
 - (c) The commissioner of the Department of Education, or the commissioner's designee;
 - (d) The commissioner of the Department of Kentucky State Police, or the commissioner's designee;
 - (e) The Kentucky state fire marshal, or the fire marshal's designee;
 - (f) The executive director of the Division of Emergency Management, or the executive director's designee;
 - (g) The Attorney General, or the Attorney General's designee;
 - (h) One (1) representative of local community crisis response teams appointed by the Governor;
 - (i) Four (4) members appointed by the Governor to represent mental health disciplines;
 - (j) Two (2) members appointed by the Governor to represent emergency services disciplines;
 - (k) One (1) member who is a mental health professional licensed for independent clinical practice, to be appointed by the Governor. The licensed mental health professional member shall serve as clinical director for the board;
 - (l) One (1) member, appointed by the Governor, from a statewide chaplain's association involved in emergency services, who is trained in grief counseling and has experience in crisis response;
 - (m) One (1) member from the Kentucky Chapter of the American Red Cross; and
 - (n) The commissioner of the Department for Community Based Services or the commissioner's designee.
- (3) All board members appointed pursuant to subsection (2)(h) to (l) of this section shall be approved members of the existing community crisis response team.
- (4) All board members appointed pursuant to subsection (2)(h) to (l) of this section shall have demonstrated a commitment to the provision of community crisis response services.
- (5) The members of the board appointed by the Governor shall serve for two (2) years and may be reappointed for one (1) additional consecutive two (2) year term. All vacancies in appointed members' terms shall be filled by appointment of the Governor for the remainder of the unexpired term.

- (6) The board shall elect annually from its membership a chairperson and shall establish other officers and committees as needed to execute the duties of the board.
- (7) The board shall meet at least quarterly, and a majority of the members shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of the board's business.
- (8) Except for hired and appointed staff, no board member or team member shall receive compensation. However, board members and crisis response team members may receive reimbursement for expenses incurred in the course of providing crisis response services or executing the duties of the board, consistent with state policy governing the reimbursement of state employees for food, travel, and lodging. Except as provided for in KRS 36.260, nothing in the provisions of KRS 36.250 to 36.270 shall be construed to create liability of a private party for expenses incurred or reimbursed under this subsection.

Effective: June 26, 2007

History: Amended 2007 Ky. Acts ch. 85, sec. 119, effective June 26, 2007. -- Amended 2000 Ky. Acts ch. 14, sec. 6, effective July 14, 2000; and ch. 102, sec. 3, effective July 14, 2000. -- Repealed, reenacted, and amended 1998 Ky. Acts ch. 86, sec. 2, effective July 15, 1998; and amended ch. 426, sec. 83, effective July 15, 1998. -- Created 1996 Ky. Acts ch. 316, sec. 2, effective July 15, 1996.

Formerly codified as KRS 42.665.