2018 Kansas Statutes
Chapter 8 AUTOMOBILES AND OTHER VEHICLES
Article 15 UNIFORM ACT REGULATING TRAFFIC; RULES OF THE ROAD
8-1566 Reckless driving, penalties.

Universal Citation: KS Stat § 8-1566 (2018)

8-1566.Reckless driving, penalties. (a) Any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving.

(b) Except as provided in K.S.A. 8-2,142, violation of this section is a misdemeanor. Upon a first conviction of a violation of this section, a person shall be sentenced to not less than five days nor more than 90 days imprisonment or fined not less than $25 nor more than $500, or both such fine and imprisonment. On a second or subsequent conviction of a violation of this section, a person shall be sentenced to not less than 10 days nor more than six months imprisonment, or fined not less than $50 nor more than $500 or both such fine and imprisonment.

History: L. 1974, ch. 33, § 8-1566; L. 1984, ch. 39, § 8; L. 1989, ch. 38, § 41; Jan. 1, 1991.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Kansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.