2020 Illinois Compiled Statutes
Chapter 505 - AGRICULTURE
505 ILCS 60/ - Farm Names Act.

(505 ILCS 60/0.01) (from Ch. 5, par. 56.9)

Sec. 0.01. Short title. This Act may be cited as the Farm Names Act.

(Source: P.A. 86-1324.)

 

(505 ILCS 60/1) (from Ch. 5, par. 57)

Sec. 1. The owner of any farm in the State of Illinois desiring to name his farm may have the name of his farm, together with a description of his lands to which said name applies, recorded in a book of registry kept for that purpose in the office of the recorder of the county in which said farm is located, and such recorder shall furnish to such landowner a proper certificate, setting forth the name and description of such lands; that when any name shall have been recorded as the name of any farm in such county, such name shall not be recorded as the name of any other farm in the same county.

(Source: P.A. 83-358.)

 

(505 ILCS 60/2) (from Ch. 5, par. 58)

Sec. 2. Any person having the name of his farm recorded as provided in this Act, shall first pay to the recorder a fee of $12 for the first 4 pages thereof, plus $1 for each additional page thereof, plus $1 for each additional document number therein noted.

(Source: P.A. 86-1353.)

 

(505 ILCS 60/3) (from Ch. 5, par. 59)

Sec. 3. When the owner of any farm, the name of which has been recorded as provided in this act, transfers by deed or otherwise the whole or portion of such farm, then and in that event the registered name shall not be transferred to the purchasers unless so stated in the deed of conveyance.

(Source: Laws 1915, p. 2.)

 

(505 ILCS 60/4) (from Ch. 5, par. 60)

Sec. 4. When the owner of any farm having a registered name desires to cancel the registered name thereof, he shall do so on the margin of the record of the register of such name by stating, "This name is cancelled and I hereby release all rights thereunder," which shall be signed by the person owning the said farm and attested by the recorder. For such service a fee of $12 for the first 4 pages thereof, plus $1 for each additional page thereof, plus $1 for each additional document number therein noted shall be paid to the said recorder.

(Source: P.A. 86-1353.)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Illinois may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.