2010 Illinois Code
CHAPTER 720 CRIMINAL OFFENSES
720 ILCS 513/ Partial-birth Abortion Ban Act.

    (720 ILCS 513/1)
    Sec. 1. Short title. This Act may be cited as the Partial‑birth Abortion Ban Act.
(Source: P.A. 90‑560, eff. 2‑13‑98.)

    (720 ILCS 513/5)
    Sec. 5. Definitions. In this Act:
    "Partial‑birth abortion" means an abortion in which the person performing the abortion partially vaginally delivers a living human fetus or infant before killing the fetus or infant and completing the delivery. The terms "fetus" and "infant" are used interchangeably to refer to the biological offspring of human parents.
(Source: P.A. 90‑560, eff. 2‑13‑98.)

    (720 ILCS 513/10)
    Sec. 10. Partial‑birth abortions prohibited. Any person who knowingly performs a partial‑birth abortion and thereby kills a human fetus or infant is guilty of a Class 4 felony. This Section does not apply to a partial‑birth abortion that is necessary to save the life of a mother because her life is endangered by a physical disorder, physical illness, or physical injury, including a life‑endangering condition caused by or arising from the pregnancy itself, provided that no other medical procedure would suffice for that purpose.
(Source: P.A. 90‑560, eff. 2‑13‑98.)

    (720 ILCS 513/15)
    Sec. 15. Civil action. The maternal grandparents of the fetus or infant, if the mother has not attained the age of 18 years at the time of the abortion, may in a civil action obtain appropriate relief unless the pregnancy resulted from the plaintiff's criminal conduct or the plaintiff consented to the abortion. The relief shall include money damages for all injuries, psychological and physical, occasioned by the violation of this Act and statutory damages equal to 3 times the cost of the partial‑birth abortion.
(Source: P.A. 90‑560, eff. 2‑13‑98.)

    (720 ILCS 513/20)
    Sec. 20. Prosecution of woman prohibited. A woman on whom a partial‑birth abortion is performed may not be prosecuted under this Act, for a conspiracy to violate this Act, or for an offense under Article 31 of the Criminal Code of 1961 based on a violation of this Act, nor may she be held accountable under Article 5 of the Criminal Code of 1961 for an offense based on a violation of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 90‑560, eff. 2‑13‑98.)

    (720 ILCS 513/99)
    Sec. 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect 60 days after becoming law.
(Source: P.A. 90‑560, eff. 2‑13‑98.)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Illinois may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.