2011 Hawaii Code
229. Sister-State and Province Relationships
§229-2 Hawaii sister-state committee.

HI Rev Stat § 229-2 (2011 through Reg Sess) What's This?

[§229-2] Hawaii sister-state committee. There shall be established the Hawaii sister-state committee, to be placed within the department of business, economic development, and tourism for administrative purposes only, consisting of five members appointed by the governor as provided in section 26-34.

The purpose of the committee shall be to advise the governor and the legislature on matters relating to sister-state or province relations and relations, in general, between the State and the states or provinces of foreign countries. The governor shall appoint five members, one member from each of five lists of nominees submitted respectively by the following:

(1) Speaker of the house of representatives;

(2) President of the senate;

(3) Native Hawaiian cultural organization;

(4) East-West Center; and

(5) Hawaii State Association of Counties.

A chair and vice chair of the committee shall be appointed by the committee members from among themselves. Members shall serve without compensation but shall be reimbursed for expenses, including travel expenses, necessary for the performance of their duties. [L 2006, c 150, pt of §2]

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Hawaii may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.