2022 Georgia Code
Title 34 - Labor and Industrial Relations
Chapter 9 - Workers’ Compensation
Article 6 - Payment of Compensation
Part 2 - Method of Payment
§ 34-9-225. Effect of Written Receipt of Widow or Widower, Minor, or Guardian Upon Liability of Employer; Determination of Obligation of Employer to Rival Claimants

Universal Citation: GA Code § 34-9-225 (2022)
  1. Whenever payment of compensation, in accordance with the terms of this chapter, is made to a widow or widower for her or his use or for her or his use and the use of the child or children, the written receipt thereon of such widow or widower shall release and discharge the employer.
  2. Whenever payment in accordance with the terms of this chapter is made to any employee 18 years of age or over, the written receipt of such person shall release and discharge the employer. In cases where a person under the age of 18 years shall be entitled to receive a sum or sums amounting in the aggregate to not more than $300.00 as compensation for injuries or as a distributive share by virtue of this chapter, the father or mother as natural guardian or the legally appointed conservator of such person shall be authorized and empowered to receive such moneys for the use and benefit of such person and to receipt therefor; and the release or discharge by such father or mother as natural guardian or by the legally appointed conservator shall be in full and complete discharge of all claims or demands of such person thereunder.
  3. Whenever payment of over $300.00, in accordance with the terms of this chapter, is provided for a person under 18 years of age or for a person over 18 who is physically or mentally incapable of earning, the payment shall be made to his or her duly and legally appointed conservator or to some suitable person or corporation appointed as trustee by the superior court as provided in Code Section 34-9-223; and the receipt of such conservator or such trustee shall release and discharge the employer.
  4. Payment of death benefits by an employer in good faith to a dependent having a claim inferior to that of another or other dependents shall release and discharge the employer unless such dependent or dependents having a superior claim shall have given notice of his or their claim. In case the employer is in doubt as to the respective rights of rival claimants, he may apply to the board to decide between them.

History. Ga. L. 1920, p. 167, § 46; Code 1933, § 114-420; Ga. L. 2004, p. 631, § 34; Ga. L. 2011, p. 551, § 4/SB 134.

Law reviews.

For article recommending more consistency in age requirements of laws pertaining to the welfare of minors, see 6 Ga. St. B.J. 189 (1969).

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Georgia may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.