2021 Georgia Code
Title 14 - Corporations, Partnerships, and Associations
Chapter 11 - Limited Liability Companies

Editor's notes.

- Ga. L. 1993, p. 123, § 1, effective March 1, 1994, repealed the Code sections formerly codified at this chapter, and enacted the current chapter. The former chapter, concerning foreign limited liability companies, consisted of Code 1981, §§ 14-11-1 through14-11-19 and was based on Ga. L. 1992, p. 1865, § 1.

Law reviews.

- For article, "Effective Use of Limited Liability Companies in Georgia: An Overview of Their Characteristics and Advantages," see 45 Mercer L. Rev. 25 (1993). For article, "LLC Statutes: Use by Attorneys," see 29 Ga. L. Rev. 693 (1995). For article discussing developments in Georgia law of business associations from June 1, 1996 through May 31, 1997, see 49 Mercer L. Rev. 71 (1997). For survey article discussing developments in law of business associations for the period from June 1, 1998 through May 31, 1999, see 51 Mercer L. Rev. 127 (1999). For article, "2006 Amendments to Georgia's Corporate Code and Alternative Entity Statutes," see 12 Ga. St. B. J. 12 (2007). For article, "Aggregate-Plus Theory of Partnership Taxation," see 43 Ga. L. Rev. 717 (2009). For annual survey on business associations, see 71 Mercer L. Rev. 15 (2019). For note on 1993 enactment of this chapter, see 10 Ga. St. U. L. Rev. 79 (1993). For note on 1995 amendments of Code sections in this chapter, see 12 Ga. St. U. L. Rev. 65 (1995).



The Georgia Limited Liability Company Act was drafted by the Georgia Limited Liability Company Committee, an ad hoc committee of lawyers from the Business and Finance Law Section and the Taxation Section of the Atlanta Bar Association and the Partnership Subcommittee of the Corporate and Banking Law Section of the State Bar of Georgia. The Committee operated under the auspices of the Corporate and Banking Law Section and is composed of the following individuals:

Robert P. Bryant, Co-Chair Albert G. Moore, Jr. Patrick G. Jones, Co-Chair Prof. William J. Carney Michael E. Axelrod Robert J. Muething Kendall L. Houghton Reginald J. Clark Jeffrey R. Banish David W. Santi Randolph A. Marks Theodore A. Erck, III Charles R. Beaudrot, Jr. James A. Tramonte Robert C. Marshall Dorothy B. Franzoni Cassady V. Brewer Michael G. Wasserman James F. McEvoy Bernard L. Greer, Jr. Stephen L. Camp The following individuals have provided special assistance to the Committee: Hon. Thurbert E. Baker Thomas M. Boller Janet K. Jackson George E. Hibbs Deputy Director, Business Russell N. Sewell Services and Regulation, Office of the Secretary of State

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Georgia may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.