2020 Georgia Code
Title 40 - Motor Vehicles and Traffic
Chapter 9 - Reporting Accidents; Giving Proof of Financial Responsibility
Article 1 - General Provisions
§ 40-9-7. Surrender of License After Suspension

Universal Citation: GA Code § 40-9-7 (2020)
  1. Any person whose driver's license shall have been suspended under any provision of this chapter shall immediately return his or her license to the department. If any person shall fail to return such license to the department, the department shall direct any peace officer to secure possession thereof and to return it to the department.
  2. Any person willfully failing to return his or her driver's license as required in subsection (a) of this Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine not to exceed $500.00 or by imprisonment for not more than 30 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

(Ga. L. 1951, p. 565, § 14; Code 1933, § 68C-702, enacted by Ga. L. 1977, p. 1014, § 1; Ga. L. 2005, p. 334, § 20-1/HB 501.)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Georgia may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.