2019 Georgia Code
Title 40 - Motor Vehicles and Traffic
Chapter 6 - Uniform Rules of the Road
Article 13 - Special Provisions for Certain Vehicles
Part 2A - Personal Assistive Mobility Devices
§ 40-6-325. Required equipment; minimum age for operation; exception to age requirement

Universal Citation: GA Code § 40-6-325 (2019)
  • (a) Any electric personal assistive mobility device, when operated on any highway or sidewalk, shall be equipped with front, rear, and side reflectors which shall be visible from a distance of 300 feet when directly in front of lawful upper beams of headlights on a motor vehicle; a system that when employed will enable the operator to bring the device to a controlled stop; and, if the device is operated between one-half hour after sunset and one-half hour before sunrise, a lamp emitting a white light which, while the device is in motion, illuminates the area in front of the operator for a distance of 300 feet.

  • (b) No person under the age of 16 years shall operate an electric assistive personal mobility device on any highway; provided, however, that a person under the age of 16 years may operate an electric assistive personal mobility device on any sidewalk if such person is wearing protective headgear which meets or exceeds the impact standards for bicycle helmets required by Code Section 40-6-296.

History:

Code 1981, § 40-6-325, enacted by Ga. L. 2003, p. 308, § 4.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Georgia may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.