2018 Georgia Code
Title 40 - Motor Vehicles and Traffic
Chapter 2 - Registration and Licensing of Motor Vehicles
Article 3 - Prestige License Plates and Special Plates for Certain Persons and Vehicles
§ 40-2-60. Prestige license plates

Universal Citation: GA Code § 40-2-60 (2018)
  • (a) Motor vehicle owners who are residents of Georgia, upon complying with the motor vehicle laws relating to registration and licensing of motor vehicles and, except as provided in subsection (c) of this Code section, upon the payment of a fee of $35.00 in addition to the regular motor vehicle registration fee, shall be issued special personalized prestige license plates by the commissioner. Special personalized license plates issued pursuant to this Code section shall be subject to an additional annual registration fee of $35.00 as a condition of obtaining an annual revalidation decal for such license plate which fee shall be collected by the county tag agent at the time of collection of other registration fees and shall be remitted to the state as provided in Code Section 40-2-34.

  • (b) For the purpose of this Code section, a license plate with a low number or special number may also be considered as a prestige or personalized plate.

  • (c) Additional fees for special or distinctive license plates issued pursuant to this article shall be as prescribed in the Code section authorizing such plate, and, when no additional fee is specified, no additional fee shall be required.

  • (d) The commissioner is authorized to establish procedures and promulgate rules and regulations for carrying out this Code section.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Georgia may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.