2018 Georgia Code
Title 40 - Motor Vehicles and Traffic
Chapter 2 - Registration and Licensing of Motor Vehicles
Article 1 - General Provisions
§ 40-2-5. Unlawful actions relating to license plate; use of expired prestige license plate

Universal Citation: GA Code § 40-2-5 (2018)
  • (a) Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, it shall be unlawful:

    • (1) To remove or transfer a license plate from the motor vehicle for which such license plate was issued;

    • (2) To sell or otherwise transfer or dispose of a license plate upon or for use on any motor vehicle other than the vehicle for which such license plate was issued;

    • (3) To buy, receive, use, or possess for use on a motor vehicle any license plate not issued for use on such motor vehicle; or

    • (4) To operate a motor vehicle bearing a license plate which was improperly removed or transferred from another vehicle.

  • (b) Any person who shall knowingly violate any provision of subsection (a) of this Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not less than $500.00 or by confinement for not more than 12 months, or both.

  • (c) It shall not be unlawful for any person to place an expired prestige license plate on the front of a motor vehicle provided that such vehicle also bears a current valid license plate on the rear of such vehicle.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Georgia may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.