2017 Georgia Code
Title 15 - Courts
Chapter 10 - Magistrate Courts
Article 1 - General Provisions
§ 15-10-7. Council of Magistrate Court Judges

Universal Citation: GA Code § 15-10-7 (2017)
  • (a) There is created a council of magistrate court judges to be known as the "Council of Magistrate Court Judges." The council shall be composed of the chief magistrates, magistrates, and senior magistrates of the magistrate courts of this state. The council is authorized to organize itself and to develop a constitution and bylaws. The officers of said council shall consist of a president, a first vice president, a second vice president, a secretary, a treasurer, and such other officers as the council shall deem necessary. The council shall have an executive committee composed of two representatives from each judicial administrative district. No senior magistrate shall serve as an officer of the council or as a regular representative of a judicial administrative district to the executive committee of the council.
  • (b) It shall be the purpose of the council to effectuate the constitutional and statutory responsibilities conferred upon it by law, to further the improvement of the magistrate courts and the administration of justice, to assist the chief magistrates, magistrates, and senior magistrates throughout the state in the execution of their duties, and to promote and assist in the training of chief magistrates, magistrates, and senior magistrates.
  • (c) Expenses of the administration of the council shall be paid from state funds appropriated for that purpose, from federal funds available to the council for that purpose, or from other appropriate sources.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Georgia may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.