2015 Georgia Code
Title 15 - COURTS
§ 15-6-8 - Jurisdiction and powers of superior courts

GA Code § 15-6-8 (2015) What's This?

The superior courts have authority:

(1) To exercise original, exclusive, or concurrent jurisdiction, as the case may be, of all causes, both civil and criminal, granted to them by the Constitution and laws;

(2) To exercise the powers of a court of equity;

(3) To exercise appellate jurisdiction from judgments of the probate or magistrate courts as provided by law;

(4) To exercise a general supervision over all inferior tribunals and to review and correct, in the manner prescribed by law, the judgments of:

(A) Magistrates;

(B) Municipal courts or councils;

(C) Any inferior judicature;

(D) Any person exercising judicial powers; and

(E) Judges of the probate courts, except in cases touching the probate of wills and the granting of letters of administration, in which a jury must be impaneled;

(5) To punish contempt by fines not exceeding $1,000.00, by imprisonment not exceeding 20 days, or both; and

(6) To exercise such other powers, not contrary to the Constitution, as are or may be given to such courts by law.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Georgia may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.