2010 Georgia Code
O.C.G.A. 48-8-7 (2010)
TITLE 48 - REVENUE AND TAXATION
CHAPTER 8 - SALES AND USE TAXES
ARTICLE 1 - STATE SALES AND USE TAX
PART 1 - GENERAL PROVISIONS
§ 48-8-7 - Violation of article; penalty
48-8-7. Violation of article; penalty
(a) It shall be unlawful for any dealer to knowingly and willfully fail, neglect, or refuse to collect the tax provided in this article, either by himself or through his agents or employees.
(b) In addition to the penalty of being liable for and paying the tax himself, any person who violates subsection (a) of this Code section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not more than $5,000.00 or imprisonment for not more than one year, or both. Upon the second or subsequent conviction of a person who violates subsection (a) of this Code section, the person shall be guilty of a felony and shall be punished by a fine of not more than $10,000.00 or imprisonment for not more than five years, or both.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Georgia may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.