There is a newer version of the Georgia Code
2006 Georgia Code - 48-9-1448-9-14. (a) In addition to the motor fuel tax imposed by Code Section 48-9-3, there is imposed a second motor fuel tax. (b)(1) The motor fuel tax imposed by this Code section is levied at the rate of 3 percent of the retail sale price less the tax imposed by Code Section 48-9-3 upon the sale, use, or consumption, as defined in Code Section 48-8-2, of motor fuel in this state. This tax shall be subject only to the exemptions provided in Code Section 48-9-3. (2)(A) As used in this paragraph, the term 'prepaid state tax' shall have the same meaning as provided in paragraph (5.1) of Code Section 48-8-2. (B) At the time the tax imposed by Code Section 48-9-3 attaches to a sale or transfer of motor fuels, a prepaid state tax shall be collected. The same person remitting the tax imposed under Code Section 48-9-3, but on a separate schedule, shall remit the prepaid state tax to the state. The tax shall be separately invoiced throughout the chain of distribution until it reaches the dealer who makes the retail sale. The commissioner shall issue the rate of prepaid state tax on a semiannual basis, rounded to the nearest $.001 per gallon for use in the following semiannual period. The rate shall be calculated at 4 percent of the state-wide average retail price by motor fuel type as compiled by the Energy Information Agency of the United States Department of Energy, the Oil Pricing Information Service, or a similar reliable published index less taxes imposed under Code Section 48-9-3, this subsection, and all local sales and use taxes. In the event that the retail price changes by 25 percent or more within a semiannual period, the commissioner shall issue a revised prepaid state tax rate for the remainder of that period. (c)(1) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, in all other respects, the tax imposed by this Code section shall be administered and collected and penalties and interest shall be imposed in the same manner as the sales and use tax collected pursuant to Article 1 of Chapter 8 of this title. (2) Dealers shall be allowed a percentage of the amount of the tax due and accounted for and shall be reimbursed in the form of a deduction in submitting, reporting, and paying the amount due. The deduction shall be at the rate and subject to the requirements specified under subsections (b) through (f) of Code Section 48-8-50.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Georgia may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.