2011 Florida Statutes
TITLE XXIII — MOTOR VEHICLES
Chapter 318 — DISPOSITION OF TRAFFIC INFRACTIONS
318.15 — Failure to comply with civil penalty or to appear; penalty.
318.15 Failure to comply with civil penalty or to appear; penalty.—
(1)(a) If a person fails to comply with the civil penalties provided in s. 318.18 within the time period specified in s. 318.14(4), fails to enter into or comply with the terms of a penalty payment plan with the clerk of the court in accordance with ss. 318.14 and 28.246, fails to attend driver improvement school, or fails to appear at a scheduled hearing, the clerk of the court shall notify the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles of such failure within 10 days after such failure. Upon receipt of such notice, the department shall immediately issue an order suspending the driver s license and privilege to drive of such person effective 20 days after the date the order of suspension is mailed in accordance with s. 322.251(1), (2), and (6). Any such suspension of the driving privilege which has not been reinstated, including a similar suspension imposed outside Florida, shall remain on the records of the department for a period of 7 years from the date imposed and shall be removed from the records after the expiration of 7 years from the date it is imposed.
(b) However, a person who elects to attend driver improvement school and has paid the civil penalty as provided in s. 318.14(9), but who subsequently fails to attend the driver improvement school within the time specified by the court shall be deemed to have admitted the infraction and shall be adjudicated guilty. In such a case in which there was an 18-percent reduction pursuant to s. 318.14(9) as it existed before February 1, 2009, the person must pay the clerk of the court that amount and a processing fee of up to $18, after which no additional penalties, court costs, or surcharges shall be imposed for the violation. In all other such cases, the person must pay the clerk a processing fee of up to $18, after which no additional penalties, court costs, or surcharges shall be imposed for the violation. The clerk of the court shall notify the department of the person s failure to attend driver improvement school and points shall be assessed pursuant to s. 322.27.
(2) After the suspension of a person s driver s license and privilege to drive under subsection (1), the license and privilege may not be reinstated until the person complies with the terms of a periodic payment plan or a revised payment plan with the clerk of the court pursuant to ss. 318.14 and 28.246 or with all obligations and penalties imposed under s. 318.18 and presents to a driver license office a certificate of compliance issued by the court, together with a nonrefundable service charge of $60 imposed under s. 322.29, or presents a certificate of compliance and pays the service charge to the clerk of the court or a driver licensing agent authorized under s. 322.135 clearing such suspension. Of the charge collected, $22.50 shall be remitted to the Department of Revenue to be deposited into the Highway Safety Operating Trust Fund. Such person must also be in compliance with requirements of chapter 322 before reinstatement.
History.—s. 1, ch. 74-377; s. 1, ch. 80-262; s. 6, ch. 86-154; s. 333, ch. 95-148; s. 9, ch. 96-413; s. 50, ch. 97-300; s. 8, ch. 99-248; s. 98, ch. 2003-402; s. 1, ch. 2003-410; s. 59, ch. 2004-265; s. 23, ch. 2006-290; s. 6, ch. 2006-296; s. 32, ch. 2008-111; s. 2, ch. 2009-6; s. 11, ch. 2009-61; s. 5, ch. 2009-71; s. 2, ch. 2010-107; s. 16, ch. 2011-66.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Florida may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.