2010 Florida Code
TITLE XXIV VESSELS
Chapter 327 VESSEL SAFETY  
327.50 Vessel safety regulations; equipment and lighting requirements.

327.50 Vessel safety regulations; equipment and lighting requirements.

   (1)(a) The owner and operator of every vessel on the waters of this state shall carry, store, maintain, and use safety equipment in accordance with current United States Coast Guard safety equipment requirements as specified in the Code of Federal Regulations, unless expressly exempted by the department.

   (b) No person shall operate a vessel less than 26 feet in length on the waters of this state unless every person under 6 years of age on board the vessel is wearing a type I, type II, or type III Coast Guard approved personal flotation device while such vessel is underway. For the purpose of this section, “underway” shall mean at all times except when a vessel is anchored, moored, made fast to the shore, or aground.

   (2) No person shall operate a vessel on the waters of this state unless said vessel is equipped with properly serviceable lights and shapes required by the navigation rules.

   (3) The use of sirens or flashing, occulting, or revolving lights on any vessel is prohibited, except as expressly provided in the navigation rules or annexes thereto.

History. s. 8, ch. 59-400; s. 13, ch. 63-105; s. 1, ch. 65-361; s. 7, ch. 74-327; s. 8, ch. 81-100; s. 2, ch. 81-114; s. 9, ch. 84-188; s. 2, ch. 86-35; s. 5, ch. 88-133; s. 2, ch. 92-188; s. 463, ch. 95-148; s. 7, ch. 98-308.

Note. Former s. 371.57.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Florida may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.