2018 District of Columbia Code
Title 1 - Government Organization.
Chapter 2 - District of Columbia Home Rule.
Subchapter II - Governmental Reorganization.
§ 1–202.02. National Capital Housing Authority.

Universal Citation: DC Code § 1–202.02 (2018)

(a) The National Capital Housing Authority (hereinafter referred to as the “Authority”) established under §§ 6-101.01 to 6-102.05 shall be an agency of the District of Columbia government subject to the organizational and reorganizational powers specified in §§ 1-204.04(b) and 1-204.22(12).

(b) All functions, powers, and duties of the President under §§ 6-101.01 to 6-102.05 shall be vested in and exercised by the Mayor. All employees, property (real and personal), and unexpended balances (available or to be made available) of appropriations, allocations, and all other funds, and assets and liabilities of the Authority are authorized to be transferred to the District of Columbia government.

(Dec. 24, 1973, 87 Stat. 779, Pub. L. 93-198, title II, § 202.)

Prior Codifications

1981 Ed., § 5-102.

1973 Ed., § 5-103a.

Section References

This section is referenced in § 1-206.03 and § 47-335.02.

Cross References

Succession in government, abolition of prior government, see § 1-207.11.

Succession in government, transfer of personnel, property, and funds, see § 1-207.13.

Editor's Notes

Definitions applicable: The definitions in § 1-201.03 apply to this section.

Delegation of Authority

Delegation of Authority to Implement the Provisions of the District of Columbia Alley Dwelling Act, see Mayor’s Order 88-30, December 15, 1987; Mayor’s Order 88-161, December 15, 1987.

Change in Government

This section originated at a time when local government powers were delegated to the District of Columbia Council and to a Commissioner of the District of Columbia. The District of Columbia Self-Government and Governmental Reorganization Act, 87 Stat. 818, § 711 ( D.C. Code, § 1-207.11), abolished the District of Columbia Council and the Office of Commissioner of the District of Columbia. These branches of government were replaced by the Council of the District of Columbia and the Office of Mayor of the District of Columbia, respectively. Accordingly, and also pursuant to § 714(a) of such Act ( D.C. Code, § 1-207.14(a)), appropriate changes in terminology were made in this section.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. District of Columbia may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.