2018 Connecticut General Statutes
Title 29 - Public Safety and State Police
Chapter 529 - Division of State Police
Section 29-31 - Display of permit to sell. Record of sales.

Universal Citation: CT Gen Stat § 29-31 (2018)

No sale of any pistol or revolver shall be made except in the room, store or place described in the permit for the sale of pistols and revolvers, and such permit or a copy thereof certified by the authority issuing the same shall be exposed to view within the room, store or place where pistols or revolvers are sold or offered or exposed for sale. No sale or delivery of any pistol or revolver shall be made unless the purchaser or person to whom the same is to be delivered is personally known to the vendor of such pistol or revolver or the person making delivery thereof or unless the person making such purchase or to whom delivery thereof is to be made provides evidence of his or her identity. The vendor of any pistol or revolver shall keep a record of each pistol or revolver sold in a book kept for that purpose, which record shall be in such form as is prescribed by 27 CFR 478.125. The vendor of any pistol or revolver shall make such record available for inspection upon the request of any sworn member of an organized local police department or the Division of State Police within the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection or any investigator assigned to the state-wide firearms trafficking task force established under section 29-38e.

(1949 Rev., S. 4162; P.A. 77-614, S. 486, 610; P.A. 11-51, S. 134; P.A. 12-191, S. 1.)

History: P.A. 77-614 replaced commissioner of state police with commissioner of public safety, effective January 1, 1979; pursuant to P.A. 11-51, “Commissioner of Public Safety” was changed editorially by the Revisors to “Commissioner of Emergency Services and Public Protection”, effective July 1, 2011; P.A. 12-191 replaced requirements that record kept of each sale be in form prescribed by commissioner, include date of sale, caliber, make, model and manufacturer's number of pistol or revolver and name, address and occupation of purchaser, be signed by purchaser and seller in each other's presence and be preserved for at least 6 years with requirement that record be in form prescribed by 27 CFR 478.125, added requirement that vendor make record available for inspection upon request of police or state-wide firearms trafficking task force investigator and made technical changes.

Cited. 193 C. 7.

Cited. 9 CA 169; judgment reversed, see 205 C. 370.

Where offense lay not in failure to keep record of sale, but in failure to keep it in book and form prescribed by commissioner, minimum sentence of 2 years reduced to 1 year as too severe. 22 CS 25.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Connecticut may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.