2015 Connecticut General Statutes
Title 12 - Taxation
Chapter 228b - Controlling Interest Transfer Tax
Section 12-638g - Wilful violations. Penalties.
(a) Any entity required under this chapter to pay any tax, or required under this chapter or by regulations adopted in accordance with the provisions of this chapter to make a return, keep any records or supply any information, who wilfully fails to pay such tax, make such return, keep such records, or supply such information, at the time required by law or regulations, shall, in addition to any other penalty provided by law, be fined not more than one thousand dollars or imprisoned not more than one year or both. Notwithstanding the provisions of section 54-193, no person shall be prosecuted for a violation of the provisions of this subsection committed on or after July 1, 1997, except within three years next after such violation has been committed. As used in this section, “entity” includes any officer or employee of a corporation or a member or employee of a partnership under a duty to pay such tax, to make such return, keep such records or supply such information.
(b) Any entity which wilfully delivers or discloses to the commissioner or his authorized agent any list, return, account, statement, or other document, known by it to be fraudulent or false in any material matter, shall, in addition to any other penalty provided by law, be guilty of a class D felony. No entity shall be charged with an offense under both subsections (a) and (b) of this section in relation to the same tax period but such entity may be charged and prosecuted for both such offenses upon the same information.
(P.A. 89-251, S. 45, 203; P.A. 97-203, S. 12, 20; P.A. 13-258, S. 57.)
History: P.A. 89-251, S. 45 effective July 1, 1989, and applicable to sales or transfers of real property occurring on or after that date; P.A. 97-203 amended Subsec. (a) to extend to three years the time within which persons wilfully failing to file tax returns or pay taxes may be criminally prosecuted, effective July 1, 1997; P.A. 13-258 amended Subsec. (b) to change penalty from fine of not more than $5,000 or imprisonment of not more than 5 years or less than 1 year to a class D felony.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Connecticut may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.