2012 California Codes
FAM - Family Code
DIVISION 11 - MINORS [6500 - 7143]
PART 4 - MEDICAL TREATMENT
CHAPTER 3 - Consent by Minor
(a) A minor who is 12 years of age or older and who may have come into contact with an infectious, contagious, or communicable disease may consent to medical care related to the diagnosis or treatment of the disease, if the disease or condition is one that is required by law or regulation adopted pursuant to law to be reported to the local health officer, or is a related sexually transmitted disease, as may be determined by the State Public Health Officer.
(b) A minor who is 12 years of age or older may consent to medical care related to the prevention of a sexually transmitted disease.
(c) The minor’s parents or guardian are not liable for payment for medical care provided pursuant to this section.
(Amended by Stats. 2011, Ch. 652, Sec. 1. Effective January 1, 2012.)
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. California may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.