2009 California Penal Code - Section 12650-12655 :: Article 7. Stun GunsPENAL CODE
12650. "Stun gun" as used in this chapter means any item, except a less lethal weapon, as defined in Section 12601, used or intended to be used as either an offensive or defensive weapon that is capable of temporarily immobilizing a person by the infliction of an electrical charge. 12651. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any person may purchase, possess, or use a stun gun, subject to the following requirements: (a) No person convicted of a felony or any crime involving an assault under the laws of the United States, of the State of California, or any other state, government, or country or convicted of misuse of a stun gun under Section 244.5, shall purchase, possess, or use stun guns. (b) No person who is addicted to any narcotic drug shall purchase, possess, or use a stun gun. (c) No person shall sell or furnish any stun gun to a minor unless the minor is at least 16 years of age and has the written consent of his or her parent or legal guardian. Violation of this subdivision shall be a public offense punishable by a fifty dollar ($50) fine for the first offense. Any subsequent violation of this subdivision is a misdemeanor. (d) No minor shall possess any stun gun unless the minor is at least 16 years of age and has the written consent of his or her parent or legal guardian. 12652. Each stun gun sold shall contain both of the following: (a) The name of the manufacturer stamped on the stun gun. (b) The serial number applied by the manufacturer. 12653. Unless otherwise specified, any violation of this article is a misdemeanor. 12654. Each stun gun sold in this state shall be accompanied by an instruction booklet. Violation of this section shall be a public offense punishable by a fifty dollar ($50) fine for each weapon sold without the booklet. 12655. Any person who sells a less lethal weapon, as defined in Section 12601, to a person under the age of 18 years is guilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for up to six months or by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that imprisonment and fine.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. California may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.