2007 California Vehicle Code Article 5. Partial Year Payment Of Weight Fees

CA Codes (veh:9700-9711)

VEHICLE CODE

SECTION 9700-9711




9700.  With respect to vehicles subject to additional registration
fees under Section 9400 or 9400.1, a proportionate share of the
additional fees may be paid for any partial period of one month or
more, but less than 12 months, in an amount determined to be
one-twelfth of the annual registration times the consecutive months,
or fraction thereof, of the period of registration.



9702.  An additional fee of fifteen dollars () shall be charged
for each application for partial year registration, or renewal
thereof, whenever a person pays the fee under Section 9400 or 9400.1,
as provided in Section 9700.


9704.  Every partial year vehicle registration and every certificate
or insignia issued under this article shall expire at midnight on
the last day of the period for which issued.  The department may,
upon payment of the proper fees, renew the registration of the
vehicle for a period of months less than the remainder of the
registration year or for the remainder of the registration year.



9706.  (a) Application for partial year registration in conjunction
with an application for original California registration shall be
made by the owner within 20 days of the date the vehicle first
becomes subject to California registration.  Any application for
partial year registration submitted after that 20-day period shall be
denied registration for a partial year, and the vehicle shall be
subject to payment of the fees for the entire registration year.  In
addition to the fee for the registration year, a penalty, as
specified in Section 9554, shall be added to the fee for
registration.
   (b) Any application to renew registration for a part of the
remainder of the registration year or for the entire remainder of the
registration year shall be made prior to midnight of the expiration
date of the last issued registration certificate.  Application shall
be made upon presentation of the last issued registration card or of
a potential registration issued by the department for use at the time
of renewal and by payment of the required partial year fees, or, if
renewal is for the remainder of the registration year, by payment of
the annual fee required by Section 9400 or 9400.1, as reduced
pursuant to Section 9407.
   (c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, an owner who
registers a vehicle pursuant to this article during a calendar year
shall, if the vehicle was not operated, moved, or left standing upon
a highway, file a certificate of nonoperation prior to the date of
the first operation of the vehicle on the highways in a manner which
requires that registration and shall, by December 31 of each calendar
year thereafter, file a certification pursuant to subdivisions (a)
and (b) of Section 4604 when the vehicle is not registered for
operation on the highways for the succeeding calendar year.
   (d) Notwithstanding subdivision (c), the owner of any vehicle
being moved or operated for the purpose of providing support to
firefighting operations while the vehicle or owner is under contract
to the United States Forestry Service, the United States Department
of the Interior, the Bureau of Land Management, the Department of
Forestry and Fire Protection, or the Office of Emergency Services may
obtain partial year registration if application is made within 20
days of the date the vehicle is first operated, moved, or left
standing on the highway and the owner has obtained a letter of
authorization from the department prior to the date that the vehicle
is first operated, moved, or left standing on the highway.



9706.1.  If the registration card or potential registration card is
unavailable, payment of the fee prescribed by Section 9265 for the
issuance of a duplicate registration shall not be required in
addition to the other fees prescribed by subdivision (b) of Section
9706.



9710.  When an application for renewal of registration of a vehicle
has been made as required by Section 9706, the vehicle may be
operated on the highways until the new certificate or insignia of
current registration has been received from the department if there
is displayed on the vehicle, in addition to the license plates or
validating devices issued to the vehicle for the previous year, the
certificate or insignia issued to the vehicle for the previous
partial year.


9711.  This article does not apply to any owner or lessor of a
commercial vehicle based in a foreign jurisdiction which does not
grant reciprocity or proportionate registration to residents of this
state while operating within that jurisdiction.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. California may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.