2019 Arkansas Code
Title 28 - Wills, Estates, and Fiduciary Relationships
Subtitle 4 - Administration of Decedents' Estates
Chapter 39 - Rights of Surviving Family Members
Subchapter 2 - Homestead Rights
§ 28-39-207. Disturbance of Possession - Penalty

Universal Citation: AR Code § 28-39-207 (2019)

When the provisions of the foregoing sections have been complied with by the parties claimant, any administrators or executors of the estate of the deceased who shall assume the possession of or in any manner disturb the surviving spouse or children of the deceased in the enjoyment of the homestead, or undertake to sell the homestead, shall be adjudged guilty of a misdemeanor. Upon conviction, the administrator or executor shall be imprisoned in the county jail for a term not less than one (1) month nor more than two (2) months and shall be fined in any sum not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500) and shall also be liable upon his or her official bond to the injured parties in twice the amount of damages which they may have sustained.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.