2018 Arkansas Code
Title 16 - Practice, Procedure, and Courts
Subtitle 7 - Particular Proceedings and Remedies
Chapter 123 - Civil Rights
Subchapter 3 - Arkansas Fair Housing Commission
§ 16-123-348. Violations -- Bodily injury -- Penalties

Universal Citation: AR Code § 16-123-348 (2018)
  • (a) It is unlawful for a person, whether or not acting under color of law, by force or threat of force, to willfully injure, intimidate, or interfere with, or attempt to injure, intimidate, or interfere with:

    • (1) Any person because of his or her race, color, religion, sex, disability, as defined in § 16-123-302, familial status, as defined in § 16-123-302, or national origin or because the person is or has been selling, purchasing, renting, financing, occupying, or contracting or negotiating for the sale, purchase, rental, financing, or occupation of any dwelling, or applying for or participating in any service, organizations, or facility relating to the business of selling or renting dwellings;

    • (2) Any person because he or she is or has been, or in order to intimidate the person or any other person or any class of persons from:

      • (A) Participating, without discrimination on account of race, color, religion, sex, disability, as defined in § 16-123-302, familial status, as defined in § 16-123-302, or national origin, in any of the activities, services, organizations, or facilities described in subdivision (a)(1) of this section; or

      • (B) Affording any person or class of persons opportunity or protection so to participate; or

    • (3) Any citizen because he or she is or has been, or in order to discourage the citizen or any other citizen from lawfully aiding or encouraging other persons to participate, without discrimination on account of race, color, religion, sex, disability, as defined in § 16-123-302, familial status, as defined in § 16-123-302, or national origin, in any of the activities, services, organizations, or facilities described in subdivision (a)(1) of this section, or participating lawfully in speech or peaceful assembly opposing any denial of the opportunity to so participate.

  • (b) A person who violates any provision of subsection (a) of this section shall:

    • (1) If the violation results in bodily injury, be fined not more than two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000) or be imprisoned for not more than ten (10) years, or both;

    • (2) If the violation results in death, be imprisoned for not less than ten (10) years or life;

    • (3) If the violation results in property damage exceeding one hundred dollars ($100) or if the violation involves the use or attempted use of fire or a firearm, be fined not more than two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000) or be imprisoned for not more than five (5) years, or both; or

    • (4) Otherwise, be fined not more than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) or be imprisoned for not more then one (1) year, or both.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.