2017 Arkansas Code
Title 7 - Elections
Chapter 4 - Boards of Election Commissioners and Other Election Officers
Subchapter 1 - General Provisions
§ 7-4-115. Legislative intent

Universal Citation: AR Code § 7-4-115 (2017)

Due to the recent United States Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals ruling in Jones v. Conway County, Arkansas, 143 F.3d 417 (8th Cir. 1998), the status of county election commissioners as either county officials or state officials has become unclear. Because of this lack of clarity, there has been much confusion as to whether or not county election commissioners should have been or currently are immune from suit under the state's policy of tort immunity. It is the intent of the General Assembly to clarify the official status of county election commissioners. Prior to July 30, 1999, county election commissioners were state officials and, as such, were immune from suit pursuant to Arkansas Constitution, Article 5, § 20, and § 19-10-305. Upon July 30, 1999, county election commissioners are hereby deemed to be county officials and are immune from suit pursuant to § 21-9-301.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.