2017 Arkansas Code
Title 6 - Education
Subtitle 2 - Elementary and Secondary Education Generally
Chapter 16 - Curriculum
Subchapter 14 - Digital Learning Act of 2013
§ 6-16-1406. Digital learning courses

Universal Citation: AR Code § 6-16-1406 (2017)
  • (a) All public school districts and public charter schools shall provide at least one (1) digital learning course to their students as either a primary or supplementary method of instruction.
  • (b) All digital learning courses provided by public school districts or public charter schools shall:
    • (1) Be of high quality;
    • (2) Meet or exceed the curriculum standards and requirements established by the State Board of Education; and
    • (3) Be made available in a blended learning, online-based, or other technology-based format tailored to meet the needs of each participating student.
  • (c) Digital learning courses shall be capable of being assessed and measured through standardized tests or local assessments.
  • (d) Beginning with the entering ninth grade class of the 2014-2015 school year, each high school student shall be required to take at least one (1) digital learning course for credit to graduate.
  • (e) The state board shall not limit the number of digital learning courses for which a student may receive credit through a public school or a public charter school and shall ensure that digital learning courses may be used as both primary and secondary methods of instruction.
  • (f) The state board may promulgate rules to implement this section.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.