2017 Arkansas Code
Title 27 - Transportation
Subtitle 4 - Motor Vehicular Traffic
Chapter 51 - Operation of Vehicles -- Rules of the Road
Subchapter 15 - Paul's Law: To Prohibit Drivers From Using a Wireless Communications Device While Operating a Motor Vehicle
§ 27-51-1506. Penalties
- (1) A violation of this subchapter is punishable by a fine of not more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250) for the first offense.
- (2) Each subsequent violation of this subchapter is punishable by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500).
- (1) If a person pleads guilty or nolo contendre to or the finder of fact determines that the person was involved in a collision or accident while in violation of this subchapter, a court shall in addition to any other sentence, assess an additional fine of double the amount of the standard fine imposed under subdivisions (a)(1) and (2) of this section.
- (2) The law enforcement officer investigating the collision or accident shall indicate on the written accident form that the driver of the motor vehicle was using a wireless telecommunications device at the time of the collision or accident.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.