2017 Arkansas Code
Title 27 - Transportation
Subtitle 2 - Motor Vehicle Registration and Licensing
Chapter 16 - Driver's Licenses Generally
Subchapter 8 - Issuance of Licenses and Permits
§ 27-16-808. Reinstatement charge -- Definitions. [Effective September 1, 2017 until January 15, 2019.]

Universal Citation: AR Code § 27-16-808 (2017)
  • (a) The Office of Driver Services shall charge a fee to be calculated as provided under subsection (c) of this section for reinstating a driver's license suspended because of a conviction for any violation or offense.
  • (b) All proceeds remitted to the office pursuant to the provisions of this section shall be deposited as follows:
    • (1) Twenty-five percent (25%) to the State Police Retirement Fund; and
    • (2) Seventy-five percent (75%) to the State Treasury as special revenues to the credit of the Department of Arkansas State Police Fund.
  • (c) (1) (A) The reinstatement fee under this section shall be calculated by multiplying one hundred dollars ($100) by each separate occurrence of offenses under any other provision of the law resulting in:
    • (i) A court order directing the office to suspend the driving privileges of the person; or
    • (ii) The office's entering a suspension order.
      • (B) The fee under this section is supplemental to and in addition to any fee imposed under § 5-65-119, § 5-65-304, § 5-65-310, or § 27-16-508.
        • (2) (A) If a person's driving privileges are suspended or revoked solely as a result of outstanding driver's license reinstatement fees imposed under the laws of this state, the office shall permit the person to pay only one (1) reinstatement fee of one hundred dollars ($100) to cover all administrative orders to suspend, revoke, or cancel a driver's license for a person ordered to pay a reinstatement fee under § 27-16-508(a)(1) or subdivision (c)(1) of this section if a district court or circuit court verifies to the office that the person has:
          • (i) Paid all other court costs, fines, and fees associated with the criminal offense that led to his or her driver's license suspension;
          • (ii) Graduated from a specialty court program; and
          • (iii) Provided the sentencing court with a reinstatement letter from the Department of Finance and Administration showing all outstanding suspension or revocation orders.
      • (B) Subdivision (c)(2)(A) of this section does not apply to:
        • (i) A reinstatement fee ordered under § 5-65-119, § 5-65-304, § 5-65-310, or § 27-16-508; or
        • (ii) A fee ordered to reinstate commercial driving privileges.
          • (3) A person may not avail himself or herself of the provisions of this section on more than one (1) occasion.
          • (4) Upon notice to the taxpayer of certification of the intent to intercept the taxpayer's state income tax refund under § 26-36-301 et seq., the outstanding fees assessed under this section shall be set off against a taxpayer's state income tax refund.
  • (d) As used in this section:
    • (1) "Occurrence" means each separate calendar date when an offense or offenses take place; and
    • (2) "Specialty court program" means a drug court, HOPE court, or veterans court operated by a circuit court or district court as authorized by the Supreme Court.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.