2017 Arkansas Code
Title 27 - Transportation
Subtitle 2 - Motor Vehicle Registration and Licensing
Chapter 16 - Driver's Licenses Generally
Subchapter 8 - Issuance of Licenses and Permits
§ 27-16-801. Licenses generally -- Validity periods -- Contents -- Fees -- Disposition of moneys -- Definitions. [Effective until November 13, 2017.]

Universal Citation: AR Code § 27-16-801 (2017)
  • (a) (1) In a manner prescribed by the Director of the Department of Finance and Administration, the Office of Driver Services shall issue:
    • (A) A Class D license or a Class M license to each qualified applicant eighteen (18) or more years of age, for a period of eight (8) years, upon payment of twenty-four dollars ($24.00);
    • (B) An intermediate Class D license or an intermediate Class M license to each applicant between sixteen (16) and eighteen (18) years of age, for a period of up to two (2) years, upon payment of twelve dollars ($12.00);
    • (C) A learner's Class D license to each applicant between fourteen (14) and sixteen (16) years of age, for a period of up to two (2) years, upon payment of twelve dollars ($12.00); and
    • (D) A Class MD license to each qualified applicant, for a period of not more than two (2) years, upon payment of two dollars ($2.00).
      • (2)
        • (A) Each applicant for a Class D license, Class M license, or Class MD license under § 27-16-704, § 27-16-807, or § 27-20-108 shall pay an examination fee of five dollars ($5.00) for each written examination taken.
        • (B) The examination fee shall be remitted in a manner prescribed by the director.
      • (3) Each license shall include:
        • (A) A distinguishing number assigned to the licensee;
        • (B)
          • (i) Except as provided under subdivisions (a)(3)(B)(ii) and (iii) of this section, the name, residence address, date of birth, and a brief description of the licensee.
          • (ii) The following exceptions to providing a residence address and instead providing a post office box address shall be allowed at the option of the licensee:
            • (a) If the licensee is a law enforcement officer; or
            • (b) If the licensee is a victim of domestic violence or the dependent of a victim of domestic violence as provided under § 27-16-811.
          • (iii) If the licensee is an elected prosecuting attorney, a duly appointed deputy prosecuting attorney, or a public defender, he or she may use a post office box address or his or her office address instead of his or her residence address; and
        • (C) A space upon which the licensee may affix his or her signature.
      • (4) The licensee shall affix his or her signature in ink in the space provided, and no license shall be valid until it shall have been so signed by the licensee.
      • (5) At the time of initial issuance or at the time of renewal of a license, the distinguishing number assigned to the licensee for his or her license shall be a nine-digit number assigned to the specific licensee by the director.
      • (6)
        • (A) The office may offer an applicant with a valid Arkansas driver's license an additional option to view a digital copy of his or her driver's license on a mobile device or personal computer upon payment of ten dollars ($10.00).
        • (B) The digital copy of the driver's license shall be available for view at any time until the expiration of the driver's license issued under subdivision (a)(1) of this section.
  • (b) (1) (A) All licenses, as described in subsection (a) of this section, shall include a color photograph of the licensee, and the photograph shall be made a part of the license at the time of application.
    • (B)
      • (i) If the licensee is under eighteen (18) years of age at the time the license is issued, the license shall state that the licensee was under eighteen (18) years of age at the time of issuance.
      • (ii) If the licensee is at least eighteen (18) years of age but under twenty-one (21) years of age at the time the license is issued, the license shall state that the licensee was under twenty-one (21) years of age at the time the license was issued.
        • (2) A license may be valid without a photograph of the licensee when the director is advised that the requirement of the photograph is either objectionable on the grounds of religious belief or the licensee is unavailable to have the photograph made.
        • (3)
          • (A) If a licensee has an illness that causes hair loss or is undergoing treatment for an illness that causes hair loss, the office shall give the licensee the option to use the photograph from the most recent driver's license on file with the office instead of having a new photograph taken if the licensee establishes that his or her hair loss is related to that illness or treatment.
          • (B) To establish the relationship between the licensee's illness or treatment and the resulting hair loss, the licensee shall provide a statement from his or her treating physician.
          • (C) This option can only be provided for one (1) renewal of the license to prevent obsolete photographs from being used.
  • (c)
    • (1) In addition to the license fee prescribed by subsection (a) of this section, the office shall collect a penalty equal to fifty percent (50%) of the amount thereof from each driver, otherwise qualified, who shall operate a motor vehicle over the highways of this state without a valid license.
    • (2) The penalty shall be in addition to any other penalty that may be prescribed by law.
  • (d)
    • (1) Except as provided in subdivision (d)(2) of this section, all license fees collected under subsection (a) of this section shall be cash funds restricted in their use and shall be deposited into a bank selected by the Department of Arkansas State Police to the credit of the Department of Arkansas State Police Financing Fund.
    • (2) The fees collected under subdivision (a)(6)(A) of this section shall be deposited into the State Treasury to the credit of the State Central Services Fund as direct revenue to be used by the Revenue Division of the Department of Finance and Administration to defray the cost of administering a digital copy of a driver's license under subdivision (a)(6) of this section.
  • (e)
    • (1) The office shall not charge an additional fee for the color photograph provided for in subsection (b) of this section for those applicants making a renewal application for the first time.
    • (2) In addition to the regular license fee, a fee of two dollars ($2.00) shall be charged for all subsequent renewals.
    • (3) All persons applying for an Arkansas license for the first time and all persons who are required to take the driver's written examination as provided for in this chapter shall be charged the additional fee of one dollar ($1.00).
    • (4) All persons who are required to have their eyesight tested prior to initial licensing or upon subsequent license renewal as provided for in this chapter shall be charged an additional fee of two dollars ($2.00) upon issuance of the license.
    • (5) Each learner's license and intermediate driver's license issued shall be distinctive from the regular driver's license issued to a person eighteen (18) years of age or older.
  • (f) Moneys collected from the penalty fee provided in subsection (c) of this section and the fees provided in subsection (e) of this section shall be deposited into the State Treasury into the Constitutional Officers Fund and the State Central Services Fund, and the net amount shall be credited to the Department of Finance and Administration to be used to help defray the cost of the driver license program which shall be payable therefrom.
  • (g)
    • (1) In addition to the license fees imposed in subsections (a) and (e) of this section, a fee of twelve dollars ($12.00) shall be charged for the issuance or renewal of any Class D, Class M, or Class MD license.
    • (2) The fees collected under this subsection shall be remitted to the State Treasury, there to be deposited as special revenues to the credit of the Department of Arkansas State Police Fund, to be used for the payment of health insurance premiums for uniformed employees of the Department of Arkansas State Police.
  • (h) (1) As used in this subsection:
    • (A) "Custody" means:
      • (i) Being an inmate of the Department of Correction and housed in a facility operated by the Department of Correction; or
      • (ii) Being an inmate of the Department of Community Correction and housed in a detention facility; and
    • (B) "Eligible inmate" means a person who is within one hundred eighty (180) days of release from custody by the Department of Correction or the Department of Community Correction.
      • (2) (A) The office shall issue an identification card to an eligible inmate who has previously been issued an:
        • (i) Arkansas identification card; or
        • (ii) Arkansas driver's license and the driving privileges of the eligible inmate are suspended or revoked.
    • (B) The office shall issue a driver's license to an eligible inmate who has previously been issued an Arkansas driver's license if the driving privileges of the eligible inmate are:
      • (i) Not suspended or revoked; or
      • (ii) Suspended or revoked solely as a result of an outstanding driver's license reinstatement fee imposed under the laws of this state.
        • (3) The Department of Correction and the Department of Community Correction shall identify eligible inmates to apply for a replacement or renewal driver's license or identification card.
        • (4) Any fees for a replacement identification card under § 27-16-805 shall be waived for an eligible inmate.
        • (5) If the office issues a driver's license to an eligible inmate under subdivision (h)(2)(B)(ii) of this section, the office shall waive the reinstatement fee.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.