2016 Arkansas Code
Title 23 - Public Utilities and Regulated Industries
Subtitle 4 - Miscellaneous Regulated Industries
Chapter 110 - Arkansas Horse Racing Law
Subchapter 2 - -- Arkansas Racing Commission
§ 23-110-205. Hearings
(a) (1) In the event any franchise holder or person is aggrieved by any action of the Arkansas Racing Commission, he or she shall be entitled to a hearing by the commission.
(2) (A) The hearing shall be held at such place in the State of Arkansas and at such time as the commission may designate.
(B) Notice shall be served on the parties affected by mailing to those parties by registered United States mail the notice of the time and place that the hearing will be held.
(3) In conducting the hearing, the commission shall not be bound by technical rules of evidence.
(4) (A) Any of the parties affected by the hearing may be represented by counsel and shall have the right to introduce evidence.
(B) In its discretion, the commission may likewise be represented by counsel at the hearing, and the counsel shall participate in the conduct of the hearing for and on behalf of the commission.
(b) (1) (A) For purposes of conducting the hearing, the commission shall have the power to administer oaths, issue subpoenas, and compel the attendance and testimony of witnesses.
(B) Any person who has been served with a subpoena to appear and testify issued by the commission in the course of an inquiry or hearing conducted under the provisions of this chapter and who refuses or neglects to appear or testify relative to the hearing as commanded in the subpoena shall be guilty of a violation and upon conviction shall be fined not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500).
(2) In connection with any hearing, the commission or the aggrieved may cause the deposition of witnesses within or without the state to be taken in the manner prescribed by existing statutes for the taking of depositions in this state.
(c) All hearings shall be held before at least three (3) members of the commission, and the concurrence of at least three (3) members of the commission shall be necessary for any finding or order.
(d) (1) At the conclusion of the hearing, the commission shall make its findings to be the basis for the action taken by the commission.
(2) The findings and order shall be subject to review in Pulaski County Circuit Court, from which an appeal may be taken to the Supreme Court.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.