2016 Arkansas Code
Title 23 - Public Utilities and Regulated Industries
Subtitle 4 - Miscellaneous Regulated Industries
Chapter 110 - Arkansas Horse Racing Law
Subchapter 2 - -- Arkansas Racing Commission
§ 23-110-201. Arkansas Racing Commission -- Creation -- Members

AR Code § 23-110-201 (2016) What's This?

(a) A commission consisting of seven (7) members, to be known as the "Arkansas Racing Commission", is created and established.

(b) The members of the commission shall be appointed by the Governor for terms of five (5) years. The term of office shall commence on January 15 and shall end on January 14 of the fifth year following the year in which that regular term commenced.

(c) Any vacancies arising in the membership of the commission for any reason other than the expiration of the regular terms for which the members were appointed shall be filled by appointment by the Governor, to be thereafter effective until the expiration of the regular term.

(d) (1) Each congressional district shall be represented on the commission.

(2) Each member of the commission shall have been a resident of Arkansas for not less than ten (10) years next preceding the date of his or her appointment and shall be a qualified voter at the time of his or her appointment.

(3) No person who is officially connected with, employed by, financially interested in, or related to, within the third degree of consanguinity or affinity, any officer or stockholder of an applicant for, or any officer or stockholder of a holder of, a franchise applied for or issued under or pursuant to the provisions of this chapter shall be eligible to serve as a member of the commission.

(e) The Governor shall have the right to remove any member of the commission for cause.

(f) Before entering upon his or her duties, each member of the commission shall take, subscribe, and file in the office of the Secretary of State an oath to support the United States Constitution and the Arkansas Constitution and to faithfully perform the duties of the office upon which he or she is about to enter.

(g) Members of the commission shall not receive compensation for their services, but, within the limitations of appropriations made available by the General Assembly, each member may receive expense reimbursement and stipends in accordance with § 25-16-901 et seq.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.