2014 Arkansas Code
Title 21 - Public Officers and Employees
Chapter 1 - General Provisions
Subchapter 1 - General Provisions
§ 21-1-102 - Term of office of certain officers.

AR Code § 21-1-102 (2014) What's This?

(a) (1) The terms of office of the Justices of the Supreme Court, all district officers, except state senators, all county officers, except members of the lower house of the General Assembly, and all township officers and road overseers, when road overseers are elected, shall begin on January 1 following their election.

(2) The term of office of the Commissioner of State Lands shall begin on the same date as provided in Arkansas Constitution, Article 6, ยง 3, for other constitutional officers.

(3) However, in the case of a special election to fill an unexpired term, or to fill an office created after the last preceding general election, the term of the officer so elected shall begin as soon after the election as the result can be ascertained and the person elected can be commissioned and qualified.

(b) All officers shall hold their respective offices for the term prescribed by the law and until their successors are elected and qualified.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.