2014 Arkansas Code
Title 14 - Local Government
Subtitle 2 - County Government
Chapter 19 - County Buildings
§ 14-19-111 - Hospitals in counties having two judicial districts.

AR Code § 14-19-111 (2014) What's This?

(a) (1) In all counties which are divided into two (2) judicial districts, either by the Arkansas Constitution or by legislative enactment, the qualified electors of the county residing in each judicial district of a county so divided shall have and are vested with all the powers and rights for the judicial district that the qualified electors of counties have for the entire county for the purposes authorized by Arkansas Constitution, Amendment 32, and may authorize the maintaining, operating, and supporting of a county hospital in the judicial district and may authorize the levy of a tax not to exceed one (1) mill on the dollar of the assessed value of real and personal property in the county.

(2) No tax shall be levied on any property within the county or judicial district for the purposes authorized by the Arkansas Constitution and this section in excess of the total tax authorized by the Arkansas Constitution.

(b) It has been found and is declared by the General Assembly that the maintaining, operating, and supporting of a county hospital is a local concern, and, for the purposes of this section, the judicial districts of the counties are deemed and are declared by the General Assembly to be separate and distinct counties.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.