2014 Arkansas Code
Title 14 - Local Government
Subtitle 2 - County Government
Chapter 14 - County Government Code
Subchapter 2 - Boundaries
§ 14-14-201 - Power to change.

AR Code § 14-14-201 (2014) What's This?

(a) The power to change county boundaries is inherent in the General Assembly, subject to express constitutional restrictions.

(b) (1) No county now established shall be reduced to an area of less than six hundred square miles (600 sq. mi.) nor to less than five thousand (5,000) inhabitants; nor shall any new county be established with less than six hundred square miles (600 sq. mi.) and five thousand (5,000) inhabitants.

(2) This section shall not apply to the counties of Lafayette, Pope, and Johnson nor be so construed as to prevent the General Assembly from changing the line between the counties of Pope and Johnson.

(c) No part of a county shall be taken off to form a new county, or a part thereof, without the consent of a majority of voters in the part to be taken off.

(d) In the formation of new counties, no line thereof shall run within ten (10) miles of the county seat of the county proposed to be divided, except the county seat of Lafayette County.

(e) (1) Sebastian County may have two (2) districts and two (2) county seats, at which county and circuit courts shall be held as may be provided by law, each district paying its own expenses.

(2) However, nothing in this section shall be construed as requiring Sebastian County to maintain two (2) districts or two (2) county seats, nor construed as authorizing the establishment of two (2) county quorum courts and two (2) county courts.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.