2012 Arkansas Code
Title 6 - Education
Subtitle 5 - Postsecondary And Higher Education Generally
Chapter 61 - Postsecondary Institutions Generally
Subchapter 1 - -- General Provisions
§ 6-61-105 - Course in American history and civil government required.
(a) No college or university, normal school, or chartered institution of learning shall, under the authority of the State of Arkansas, grant to any student any baccalaureate degree unless he or she has passed a course in American history or civil government.
(b) Any teacher, official, officer, or person violating any of the provisions of this section shall be liable for a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) and not more than five hundred dollars ($500), or imprisonment in the county jail for a term of not less than thirty (30) days and not more than six (6) months, or both.
(c) A violation of any of the provisions of this section shall be sufficient grounds for the discharge or removal of the teacher, official, or officer violating this section and, in the case of a corporation, shall be sufficient grounds for revoking its charter.
(d) The Department of Higher Education is directed to see to the strict carrying out of this section and is authorized to take such steps and measures as may be necessary to effectuate its provisions.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.