2012 Arkansas Code
Title 11 - Labor and Industrial Relations
Chapter 9 - Workers' Compensation
Subchapter 5 - -- Accidental Injury or Death
§ 11-9-502 - Limitations on compensation -- Exceptions.


AR Code § 11-9-502 (2012) What's This?

(a) The benefits shall be paid for a period not to exceed four hundred fifty (450) weeks of disability, except that this limitation shall not apply in cases of permanent total disability or death.

(b) (1) (A) For injuries occurring on or after March 1, 1981, but on or before December 31, 2007, the first seventy-five thousand dollars ($75,000) of weekly benefits for death or permanent total disability shall be paid by the employer or its insurance carrier in the manner provided in this chapter.

(B) For injuries occurring on or after January 1, 2008, the employer or its insurance carrier shall pay weekly benefits for death or permanent total disability not to exceed three hundred twenty-five (325) times the maximum total disability rate established for the date of the injury under this chapter.

(2) (A) An employee or a dependent of an employee who receives a total of seventy-five thousand dollars ($75,000) in weekly benefits for injuries sustained on or before December 31, 2007, shall be eligible to continue to draw benefits at the rates prescribed in this chapter, but all benefits in excess of seventy-five thousand dollars ($75,000) shall be payable from the Death and Permanent Total Disability Trust Fund.

(B) An employee or a dependent of an employee who receives the maximum amount specified in subdivision (b)(1)(B) of this section shall be eligible to continue to draw benefits at the rates prescribed by this chapter payable from the trust fund.

(3) The trust fund shall consist of such funds as may be prescribed by law and shall be administered, invested, and disbursed by the Workers' Compensation Commission.

(4) Each employer or the insurance carrier of the employer in each case of death of an employee where there are no dependents shall pay into the trust fund the sum of five hundred dollars ($500).

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.