2010 Arkansas Code
9-11-212. Application without other's consent -- Penalties -- Damages.
Title 9 - Family Law
Subtitle 2 - Domestic Relations
Chapter 11 - Marriage
Subchapter 2 - License and Ceremony
§ 9-11-212 - Application without other's consent -- Penalties -- Damages.
(a) If any person shall apply for and obtain a license to marry another, without first obtaining the consent of that party, the person shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined in any sum not less than ten dollars ($10.00) nor more than one hundred dollars ($100). The fines, when collected, shall be paid into the general fund of the county wherein the offense is tried.
(b) The party so doing shall moreover be liable to the party injured in any sum that a court or jury of competent jurisdiction may adjudge for damages.
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.