2010 Arkansas Code
Title 27 - Transportation
Subtitle 3 - Motor Vehicles And Their Equipment
Chapter 36 - Lighting Regulations
Subchapter 2 - Lighting Requirements Generally
§ 27-36-204 - When lighted lamps required.

27-36-204. When lighted lamps required.

(a) (1) Every vehicle, except motorcycles and motor-driven cycles, upon a highway within this state at any time from one-half (1/2) hour after sunset to one-half (1/2) hour before sunrise and at any other time when there is not sufficient light to render clearly discernible persons and vehicles on the highway at a distance of five hundred feet (500') ahead shall display lighted lamps and illuminating devices as respectively required for different classes of vehicles, subject to exceptions with respect to parked vehicles as stated.

(2) (A) Every vehicle, except motorcycles and motor-driven cycles, upon a street or highway within this state shall display lighted lamps and illuminating devices, as respectively required for different classes of vehicles, during any period in which the vehicle's windshield wipers are being used for clearing or cleaning rain, snow, or other precipitation from the windshield because of inclement weather.

(B) (i) No vehicle or the operator of the vehicle shall be stopped, inspected, or detained solely for violations of the requirements of subdivision (a)(2)(A) of this section.

(ii) When any vehicle operator is stopped by a law enforcement officer and the law enforcement officer notes that the provisions of subdivision (a)(2)(A) of this section have not been violated, any fine levied against the vehicle operator as a result of being stopped shall be reduced by five dollars ($5.00) as an incentive to comply with the provisions of subdivision (a)(2)(A) of this section.

(C) Any person who violates the provisions of subdivision (a)(2)(A) of this section shall be subject to a fine not to exceed twenty-five dollars ($25.00), and, if a person is convicted, pleads guilty, pleads nolo contendere, or forfeits bond for a violation hereof, no court costs or other costs or fees shall be assessed.

(b) Every motorcycle and every motor-driven cycle upon a street or highway within this state at any time shall display lighted lamps and illuminating devices as respectively required for different classes of vehicles, subject to exceptions with respect to parked vehicles as stated. During the period between sunrise and ending at sunset, the headlamp displayed by a motorcycle or motor-driven cycle may use either a continuous beam or a pulsating beam.

(c) Whenever a requirement is declared as to distance from which certain lamps and devices shall render objects visible or within which the lamps or devices shall be visible, the provisions shall apply during the times stated in subsection (a) of this section in respect to a vehicle without load when upon a straight, level, unlighted highway under normal atmospheric conditions, unless a different time or condition is expressly stated.

(d) Whenever a requirement is declared as to the mounted height of lamps or devices, it shall mean from the center of the lamp or device to the level ground upon which the vehicle stands when the vehicle is without a load.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.