2010 Arkansas Code
Title 23 - Public Utilities and Regulated Industries
Subtitle 1 - Public Utilities And Carriers
Chapter 2 - Regulatory Commissions
Subchapter 1 - Arkansas Public Service Commission
§ 23-2-101 - Members generally.

23-2-101. Members generally.

(a) (1) The Arkansas Public Service Commission shall consist of three (3) members to be known as commissioners, one (1) of whom shall be a lawyer.

(2) Each commissioner shall have resided in the state for five (5) years and shall be a qualified elector.

(b) Each commissioner before entering on his or her duties shall take the oath prescribed by the Constitution, shall swear that he or she is not pecuniarily interested in any public utility or affiliate, or any public carrier or affiliate therewith, as employee, stockholder, or security holder.

(c) Each commissioner shall execute a bond to the State of Arkansas in the sum of ten thousand dollars ($10,000), conditioned for the faithful discharge and performance of his or her duties.

(d) Each commissioner shall receive an annual salary of five thousand dollars ($5,000), payable semimonthly or monthly in conformity with prevailing practices of other officers of the state.

(e) (1) At the expiration of each of the commissioner's terms, the Governor, subject to the approval of the Senate, shall appoint one (1) member who shall hold office for a term of six (6) years.

(2) Each commissioner shall hold office during the term for which he or she was appointed and until his or her successor is appointed and qualified.

(f) The Governor shall designate one (1) of the commissioners as chair.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Arkansas may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.