2022 Alaska Statutes
Title 28. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 17. Commercial Driver Training Schools
Sec. 28.17.061. Civil penalty.

Universal Citation: AK Stat § 28.17.061 (2022)

(a) If the department determines a person has violated a provision of this chapter, or a regulation adopted under this chapter, the department may impose a civil penalty not to exceed $5,000. In determining the amount of a civil penalty imposed under this section, the department shall consider the economic benefit resulting from the violation, the person's prior violations under this section, and the seriousness of the violation.

(b) Before imposing a civil penalty under this section, the department shall provide notice of the civil penalty and an opportunity to request an administrative hearing. If a hearing is not requested within 30 days after notice of the civil penalty is received, the right to a hearing is considered waived. If a hearing is requested, the hearing shall be conducted as provided under AS 28.05.141.

(c) If a person fails to pay a civil penalty imposed under this section within 30 days after the civil penalty is imposed by the department, or if the civil penalty is stayed pending an appeal, within 10 days after the court enters a final judgment in favor of the department, the department shall notify the attorney general. The attorney general may commence a civil action to recover the amount of the civil penalty.

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alaska may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.