2022 Code of Alabama
Title 8 - Commercial Law and Consumer Protection.
Chapter 21C - Sale of Recreational Vehicles.
Section 8-21C-9 - Notification of Pre-Delivery Damage.

Universal Citation: AL Code § 8-21C-9 (2022)

Section 8-21C-9

Notification of pre-delivery damage.

(a) Whenever a new recreational vehicle is damaged prior to transit to the dealer or is damaged in transit to the dealer when the carrier or means of transportation has been selected by the manufacturer or distributor, the dealer shall notify the manufacturer or distributor of the damage within the time frame specified in the manufacturer and dealer agreement and shall do either of the following:

(1) Request from the manufacturer or distributor authorization to replace the components, parts, and accessories damaged or otherwise correct the damage.

(2) Reject the vehicle within the time frame set forth in subsection (d).

(b) If the manufacturer or distributor refuses or fails to authorize repair of the damage within 10 days after receipt of notification, or if the dealer rejects the recreational vehicle because of damage, ownership of the new recreational vehicle shall revert to the manufacturer or distributor.

(c) The dealer shall exercise due care while having custody of the damaged recreational vehicle, but the dealer shall have no other obligations, financial or otherwise, with respect to that recreational vehicle.

(d) The time frame for inspection and rejection by the dealer must be part of the manufacturer and dealer agreement and may not be less than two business days after the physical delivery of the recreational vehicle.

(e) Any recreational vehicle that, at the time of delivery to the dealer, has an unreasonable amount of miles on its odometer, as determined by the dealer, may be subject to rejection by the dealer and reversion of the vehicle to the manufacturer or distributor. In no instance shall a dealer deem an amount less than the distance between the dealer and the manufacturer's factory or a distributor's point of distribution, plus 100 miles, as unreasonable.

(Act 2011-636, p. 1529, §9.)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alabama may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.