2019 Code of Alabama
Title 28 - Intoxicating Liquor, Malt Beverages and Wine.
Chapter 3A - Alcoholic Beverage Licensing Code.
Section 28-3A-5 - Issuance and renewal of licenses; penalty for delinquent renewal.

Universal Citation: AL Code § 28-3A-5 (2019)
Section 28-3A-5Issuance and renewal of licenses; penalty for delinquent renewal.

(a) Upon receipt of the application, the proper fees, the bond if required, and upon being satisfied of the truth of the statements in the application and that the applicant is a person of good repute, the board shall grant and issue to applicant the appropriate license entitling the applicant to engage in the alcoholic beverage transactions authorized by such license as set forth in this chapter. All applications for licenses and accompanying statements shall be kept in the office of the board for a period of three years and shall be open for public inspection.

(b) Licenses issued under the provisions of this chapter shall be renewed annually upon the filing of applications, in such form as the board shall prescribe, at least 60 days before the expiration and upon payment to the board of the appropriate license fees, unless the board has good cause for not renewing or reissuing the license. Unless within one month prior to the scheduled date of expiration of such licenses the applicant shall have been notified by the board of objections to the granting thereof signed by persons authorized to do so, and upon payment of the required fees, the board shall issue such renewal of licenses.

(c) Licenses shall become due and payable on or before October first of each year or on the date established by this chapter or the board for the ensuing year, and shall be delinquent if not secured each year by October twentieth or the twentieth day of the first month of the license year established by this chapter or the board. If the license is not secured by October twentieth or by the twentieth day of the first month of the license year established by this chapter or by the board, such person or firm failing or refusing to file application and obtain said license, as provided in this chapter, while continuing to enjoy the privilege allowed under said license, shall be subject to a penalty of 50 percent of the state and county licenses and filing fees, which penalty must be collected at the time of issuance of license or permit, and shall be paid into the license fund of the board. Unless previously revoked, every license issued by the board under this chapter shall expire, and terminate on the thirtieth day of September in the year or on the last day of the month ending the license year established by this chapter or by the board for which the license is issued.

(d) No license shall be issued or renewed by the board until the filing and license fees fixed by this chapter shall have been paid to the board; provided no filing fee is required for renewal.

(Acts 1980, No. 80-529, p. 806, §5.)
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alabama may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.