2018 Code of Alabama
Title 33 - NAVIGATION AND WATERCOURSES.
Chapter 5 - REGISTRATION AND OPERATION OF VESSELS.
Article 2 - Boating Safety Reform.
Section 33-5-70 - Reckless operation of vehicle; careless operation; violation of rules and regulations of Marine Police; penalties.

Universal Citation: AL Code § 33-5-70 (2018)
Section 33-5-70Reckless operation of vehicle; careless operation; violation of rules and regulations of Marine Police; penalties.

(a) It is unlawful to operate a vessel in a reckless manner upon the waters of this state. A person is guilty of the reckless operation of a vessel who operates any vessel, or manipulates any water skis, aquaplane, or other marine transportation device, upon the waters of this state in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property at a speed, or in a manner to endanger, or likely to endanger, life, limb, or damage the property of, or injure any person. Any person who violates this subsection is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor, punishable upon conviction as provided in Sections 13A-5-7 and 13A-5-12. Any person so convicted shall be fined not less than one hundred fifty dollars ($150).

(b) Any person operating a vessel upon the waters of this state shall operate the vessel in a reasonable and prudent manner, so as not to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person. The endangerment of life, limb, or property through the negligence, carelessness, or inattention of any person operating a vessel on the waters of this state shall constitute careless operation. Vessel wake and shoreline wash resulting from the reasonable and prudent operation of a vessel shall, absent negligence, not constitute damage or endangerment to property. Any person who violates this subsection is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor, punishable upon conviction as provided in Sections 13A-5-7 and 13A-5-12. Any person so convicted shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars ($100).

(c) Each person operating a vessel upon the waters of this state shall comply with all of the rules and regulations of the Marine Police Division of the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources.

(1) A person whose violation of the rules and regulations results in a boating accident, but whose violation did not constitute reckless or careless operation of a vessel, is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor punishable upon conviction as provided in Sections 13A-5-7 and 13A-5-12. Any person so convicted shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars ($100).
(2) A person whose violation of the rules and regulations does not result in a boating accident and does not constitute reckless or careless operation of a vessel is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor, punishable upon conviction as provided in Sections 13A-5-7 and 13A-5-12. Any person so convicted shall be fined not less than fifty dollars ($50).

(d) In addition to all other penalties contained in this section, any person convicted of violating this section shall be subject to the revocation or suspension of their boating safety certification or vessel operator's certification or vessel operating privileges upon the waters of this state, as provided by law and rules and regulations of the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources.

(Acts 1994, No. 94-652, p. 1243, §24.)
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alabama may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.