2016 Code of Alabama
Section 25-13-5 - Elevator Safety Review Board - Created; composition.

AL Code § 25-13-5 (2016) What's This?
Section 25-13-5Elevator Safety Review Board - Created; composition.

(a) There is created the Elevator Safety Review Board, herein referred to as the "board," consisting of 10 members, one of whom shall be the State Commissioner of the Department of Labor who shall serve as the administrator. The Governor shall appoint the remaining nine members of the board as follows: One representative from a major elevator manufacturing company or its authorized representative; one representative from an elevator servicing company; one representative of the architectural design profession; one representative of the general public; one representative of a municipality in this state; one representative of a building owner or manager; one representative who is physically handicapped; one licensed professional engineer; and one representative of labor involved in the installation, maintenance, and repair of elevators. Each member of the board shall be a citizen of this state and the membership of the board shall be inclusive and reflect the racial, gender, geographic, urban/rural, and economic diversity of the state.

(b) The initial members constituting the board shall serve for terms of three years, excluding the administrator who shall serve continuously. The board members shall serve without salary, but shall receive from the state expenses necessarily incurred by them in performance of their duties. The Governor shall appoint one of the members to serve as chair, and the chair shall be the deciding vote in the event of a tie vote.

(c) Upon the expiration of the initial terms of office, the terms of office shall be staggered so that three successors shall serve terms of office of one year each; three successors shall serve terms of office of two years each; and three successors shall serve terms of office of three years each. The Governor, by drawing lots, shall determine which successors shall serve one, two, and three-year terms of office. Thereafter, each successor member shall be appointed and serve a term of office of three years. The administrator shall continue to serve continuously.

(Act 2003-349, p. 903, §5; Act 2005-69, p. 97, §3; Act 2009-32, p. 105, §3.)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alabama may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.