2014 Code of Alabama
Title 40 - REVENUE AND TAXATION.
Chapter 23 - SALES AND USE TAXES.
Section 40-23-7 - Taxes due monthly; filing of reports; estimated payments authorized; election to file quarterly; extension of time for making return.
(a) The taxes levied under the provisions of this division, except as otherwise provided in subsection (d), shall be due and payable in monthly installments on or before the 20th day of the month next succeeding the month in which the tax accrues.
(b) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (d) on or before the 20th day of each month, every person on whom the taxes levied by this division are imposed shall report to the department, on a form prescribed by the department, a true and correct statement showing such information as the department may require, and shall pay to the department the amount of taxes shown to be due.
(c) Any taxpayer liable for taxes under the provisions of this division whose average monthly state sales tax liability was two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) or greater during the preceding calendar year shall make estimated payments to the department on or before the 20th day of the month in which the liability occurs as follows:
(1) The amount of the first estimated payment shall be 66 2/3 percent of the taxpayer's actual tax liability for the month of October 1983; thereafter the amounts of the payment shall be the lesser of 66 2/3 percent of the taxpayer's actual tax liability for the same calendar month of the preceding year or 66 2/3 percent of the current month's estimated liability.
(2) Any outstanding credit or deficit arising from the taxpayer's overpayment or underpayment of his final liability shall be applied to either increase or reduce, as the case may be, that month's final tax liability which shall be reported and paid not later than the 20th day of the month next succeeding the month in which the tax accrues.
(3) The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to the provisions of Sections 11-51-180, 11-51-200, 40-12-4, nor to any municipal or county taxes levied by past or future special or local acts of the Legislature.
(d) When the total state sales tax for which any person is liable under this division averages less than two hundred dollars ($200) per month during the preceding calendar year, a quarterly return and remittance in lieu of the monthly returns may be made, by election of the taxpayer to the department, on or before the 20th day of the month next succeeding the end of the quarter for which the tax is due under any rules and regulations as may be prescribed. The election to file quarterly shall be made in writing no later than February 20 of each year and shall be filed with the department. Notwithstanding the above, no state sales tax return shall be due until January 20 of each year unless the total state sales tax for which any person is liable under this division during the preceding calendar year exceeds ten dollars ($10).
(e) The department, for good cause, may extend the time for making any state or state-administered return required under the provisions of this division, but the time for filing any such return shall not be extended for a period greater than 30 days from the date such return is due to be made.(Acts 1959, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 100, p. 298, §5; Acts 1984, No. 84-248, p. 391; Act 98-192, p. 310, §9; Act 2014-316, §2.)
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alabama may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.