2013 Code of Alabama
Title 38 - PUBLIC WELFARE.
Chapter 9 - PROTECTION OF AGED ADULTS OR ADULTS WITH A DISABILITY.
Section 38-9-7 - Violations; penalties.


AL Code § 38-9-7 (2013) What's This?
Section 38-9-7Violations; penalties.

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to abuse, neglect, exploit, or emotionally abuse any protected person. For purposes of this section, residence in a nursing home, mental institution, developmental center for people with an intellectual disability, or other convalescent care facility shall be prima facie evidence that a person is a protected person. Charges of abuse, neglect, exploitation, or emotional abuse may be initiated upon complaints of private individuals, as a result of investigations by social service agencies, or on the direct initiative of law enforcement officials.

(b) Any person who intentionally abuses or neglects a person in violation of this chapter shall be guilty of a Class B felony if the intentional abuse or neglect causes serious physical injury.

(c) Any person who recklessly abuses or neglects a person in violation of this chapter shall be guilty of a Class C felony if the reckless abuse or neglect causes serious physical injury.

(d) Any person who intentionally abuses or neglects a person in violation of this chapter, shall be guilty of a Class C felony if the intentional abuse or neglect causes physical injury.

(e) Any person who recklessly abuses or neglects a person in violation of this chapter, shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor if the reckless abuse or neglect causes physical injury.

(f) Any person who emotionally abuses a person in violation of this chapter shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.

(g) Any person who exploits a person in violation of this chapter shall be guilty of a Class C felony, where the value of the property, assets, or resources or illegal services provided to a protected person by an unlicensed hospital exceeds one hundred dollars ($100).

(h) Any person who exploits a person in violation of this chapter shall be guilty of a Class A misdemeanor, if the value of the property, assets, or resources or illegal services provided to a protected person by an unlicensed hospital does not exceed one hundred dollars ($100).

(i) If a violation of this section is also a violation of any other Alabama criminal statute, then a conviction or acquittal under either statute bars prosecution under the remaining statute.

(Acts 1977, No. 780, p. 1340, §§5, 11; Acts 1989, No. 89-825, p. 1652, §3; Acts 1994, No. 94-615, p. 1134, §1; Act 2000-455, p. 837, §1; Act 2008-390, p. 735, §1.)

Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alabama may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.