2009 Alabama Code
Title 26 — INFANTS AND INCOMPETENTS.
Chapter 10A — ALABAMA ADOPTION CODE.
Section 26-10A-13 Time of consent or relinquishment; filing with court.
Time of consent or relinquishment; filing with court.
(a) A consent or relinquishment may be taken at any time, except that once signed or confirmed, may be withdrawn within five days after birth or within five days after signing of the consent or relinquishment, whichever comes last.
(b) Consent or relinquishment can be withdrawn if the court finds that the withdrawal is reasonable under the circumstances and consistent with the best interest of the child within 14 days after the birth of the child or within 14 days after signing of the consent or relinquishment, whichever comes last.
(c) All consents or relinquishments required by this act shall be filed with the court in which the petition for adoption is pending before the final decree of adoption is entered.(Acts 1990, No. 90-554, p. 912, §13.)
Disclaimer: These codes may not be the most recent version. Alabama may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.